top of page

Why Become a Rideshare Driver?


Be an Uber Driver - Sign Up Bonus Up To $1,000

I often get asked, "how did you get into ride sharing?" or "why [do] you do this?" by passengers and others I come into contact with during the course of my day. My response is usually determined by the person(s) asking me that question.

If it seems like they can appreciate my often misunderstood sense of humor, I might respond with something along the lines of: "I have a problem with AU-THOR-I-TIE" [authority] while trying to impersonate a drill instructor. Traditional employment (having to answer to a boss) is an ill-fit for my personality type.

Or, if they seem family oriented, I might tell them about how I've been a stay-at-home Mom of twin boys for the last eight(8) years and how that - now that they have their own circle of friends and interests - they "don't need Mommy up their bums anymore". This being said, I'm also not quite ready to let go of being able to attend each and every sporting practice, all school events/outings, or otherwise having the ability to be there for them when they need me for whatever reason.

I've also found myself telling business oriented people that I like the challenge(s) that self-entrepreneurship presents me with on a daily basis. It's a steep learning curve rife with obstacles; but it's also emotionally and physically rewarding because it provides me with a sense of accomplishment in addition to effort based income.

Each and every one of these responses are honest and applicable when it comes to answering the question of why I became a ride share provider and why I continue to do what I do.

Create Your Own Supplemental Income Stream

Inevitably, the conversation always transitions to the inquiry of whether or not I "make money doing this".

I find this to be a broad and subjective line of questioning with no definitive, concrete answer as I network with a lot of fellow ride share providers.

Some have reached the level of earning thousands per week by treating the opportunity of being a ride share provider as a means to generate seed money and/or expand their professional network [and income] for other ventures. So in this sense, there are substantial sums that can be earned in this industry.

I'm not quite to this level myself, but these are the people that I aspire to emulate. In doing so, my current driver earnings provide me with a comforting and secure level of supplemental income that I'm attempting to leverage into something greater.

Conversely, I've spoken with numerous people who find themselves "chasing dollars" - barely breaking even or operating at a loss. Naturally, if you ask this demographic whether there is money in ride sharing, their response would be negative in nature.

Bottom line with ride sharing is that you get out of it what you put into it. If you approach the opportunity with the mentality of business owner, it can be quite lucrative. If you treat it as a "job" - you might be better off securing a more traditional means of income.

Sign Up and Qualify for up to $1,000 in New Driver Bonuses!
Earnings

Get paid weekly or on demand for your driving fares. Cash deposited right into your bank account. Both platforms provide an app to track your earnings on every trip.

  • Weekly pay

  • Bank deposits

  • Track money

  • Instant view

  • Cashless transactions

SET YOUR OWN SCHEDULE

When you become a ride share driver, you decide when and how long to work. So you’ll never have to choose between earning a living and living life.

  • DRIVE a lot, drive a little

  • Make your own hours

  • Drive weekends only

  • Drive weekdays only

REWARDS

As a ride share driver you get many reward discounts. It’s great to work with a company that acknowledges you as a driver and has set hefty discounts on expenses to allow more earnings as you drive.

  • Discounts on…

  • Fuel vehicle Maintenance

  • Cell Phone Bills

  • …and more.

 

** Terms apply. Bonuses and guaranteed amounts vary by platform and sign up city.

bottom of page